News, Videos

The Sword Release Double Album

The Sword return to the UK supporting the mighty Metallica on 10 arena shows playing to over 150,000++ people, plus two headline shows. Supporting their epic Gods of the Earth album and playing material from their debut Age of Winters, The Sword are set to entertain and win over a whole new legion of fans to their just cause… the riff. To celebrate, the band are releasing a Limited Edition Boxset Double CD package of these two albums that also includes a Die-Cut Sticker.

Conceived in Austin, TX, The Sword took the form of a cohesive quartet in early 2004 when guitarist / singer J.D. Cronise, guitarist Kyle Shutt, bassist Bryan Richie, and drummer Trivett Wingo joined forces. The Sword’s live shows quickly became the hottest ticket in Austin, as their punishing yet melodious compositions, mythical imagery and conscious effort to slowly immobilize audiences left music fans astonished, while word about the band continued to flourish and grow. In the fall of 2005, The Sword found a home at Kemado Records, and their critically acclaimed debut Age of Winters was released in February 2006.

From the moment Gods of the Earth’s lead track ‘The Sundering’ explodes, it is immediately apparent that The Sword has upped the ante on a sound all it’s own. More ambitious, more accomplished and simply bigger, Gods of the Earth’s huge, mountaintop-friendly hooks, thunderous drumming and oceanic bass lines cut through the air like a scythe taking down all in the band’s path. The ominous vocals of Cronise weave fantastical tales rife with myth and mythology. Waves of powerful riffs and low-end thunder dominate songs such as the immediate ‘Maiden, Mother & Crone’, ‘Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians’, ‘Under the Boughs’ and the paralyzing ‘The Black River’. Gods of the Earth instantly conveys what words can only try to describe: The Sword is not to be taken lightly.


Gods of The Earth
1. The Sundering
2. Frost Giants Daughter
3. How Heavy This Axe
4. Lords
5. Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians
6. To Take the Black
7. Maiden, Mother & Crone
8. Under the Boughs
9. The Black River
10. The White Sea

Age of Winters
1. Celestial Crown
2. Barael’s Blade
3. Freya
4. Winter’s Wolves
5. The Horned Goddess
6. Iron Swan
7. Lament For The Auroch
8. March Of The Lor
9. Ebethron

The Sword will be playing the following dates:
25th Birmingham LG NEC Arena supporting Metallica
26th Glasgow SECC supporting Metallica
27th Glasgow King Tuts Headline show
28th London O2 Arena supporting Metallica
29th London Borderline Headline show
1st-2nd – Sonisphere Festival, Knebworth

About jon

No information is provided by the author.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>